Two Quick Announcements

April 19th, 2010 by jason Leave a reply »

I’ve got several blog posts in the queue but unfortunately I haven’t had time to get them cranked out yet.  In the interim, here are a couple of hot items I wanted to help spread the word on.

There’s a 45 minute VMware certification podcast coming up early this Wednesday morning.  APAC Vitalization Roundtable (Certifications & the VCDX path).  Podcast guests are Andrew Mitchell, Duncan Epping, and Alastair Cooke.  The Talkshoe podcast is scheduled for the following time:
EDT (USA) – 7AM
PDT (USA) – 4AM
Perth (Australia) – 7PM
Hong Kong (Hong Kong) – 7PM
Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) – 7PM
Tokio (Japan) – 8PM
Auckland (New Zealand) – 11PM
London (UK) – 12Noon
 

The vSphere 4.0 Hardening Guide, a collaborative effort which has been under development for several months with a few interim beta distributions, has been finalized and released.  The document is presented in a flexible format in that a few different levels of hardening can be used as low to high risk boundaries.  The user then ultimately decides on the appropriate hardening level depending on the level of risk the user is comfortable with assuming.The guide covers several key VMware Virtual Infrastructure areas.  To quote VMware’s announcement: 

Overall, there are more than 100 guidelines, with the following major sections: 

  • Introduction
  • Virtual Machines
  • Host (both ESXi and ESX)
  • vNetwork
  • vCenter
  • Console OS (for ESX only)

If you’ve recently deployed vSphere or if you are about to, check out these hardening guides to help secure your datacenter.  You can’t beat the price – free!

Advertisement

Leave a Reply